Public Statements & Remarks

U.S. Senate Unanimously Confirms Behnam as Chairman

December 16, 2021

Washington, D.C. — The U.S. Senate last night voted unanimously to confirm Rostin Behnam as Chairman of the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission. Behnam has served as Acting Chairman since January and issued the following statement regarding his confirmation:

“I would like to thank President Biden, Majority Leader Schumer, Republican Leader McConnell, Chairwoman Stabenow, and Ranking Member Boozman for the honor to serve as the CFTC’s 15th Chairman. I would also like to thank Commissioner Stump for her public service and leadership at the Commission and for her ongoing support as a friend and colleague. 

I am pleased to see the nominations of Kristin Johnson, Christy Goldsmith Romero, Summer Mersinger, and Caroline Pham, and look forward to supporting them through their confirmation process.

As I look ahead to 2022, the CFTC is uniquely positioned to further its role as a global leader in financial regulation.  With many challenges come many opportunities, and I am thrilled to be leading this incredible agency and its dedicated staff at a time of great change in our financial markets.”