Diversity and Inclusion at the CFTC.

Many Voices, One CFTC

CFTC Strategic Plan to Advance Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility 2024-2026

OMWI Strategic plan

The U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission is committed to creating and maintaining an inclusive culture that welcomes differences in backgrounds, experiences and perspectives to advance the CFTC’s mission to promote the integrity, resilience, and vibrancy of the U.S. derivatives markets through sound regulation. The CFTC’s first Strategic Plan to Advance Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA Plan) establishes a defined enterprise-wide strategy with clear roles and accountabilities along with specific goals and initiatives to drive a culture of inclusion across the CFTC and strengthen its brand. The CFTC’s DEIA Plan is not just a document, it is a testament to our dedication to cultivating an inclusive culture where all employees feel valued, safe, empowered, and respected.

DEIA Vision Statement

The CFTC embraces diversity as a strength and understands that transparency, fairness, and equity must guide decision-making. Everyone is accountable for contributing to a respectful, safe, inclusive, accessible, and collaborative workplace culture so that opportunities and means to excel are available to all.

OMWI's Portfolio Employee Affinity Groups Equal Employment Opportunity Accessibility Statement

What is DEIA?




Diversity is the practice of including the many communities, identities, races, ethnicities, backgrounds, abilities, cultures, and beliefs of the American people, including underserved communities. The term "underserved communities" refers to populations sharing a particular characteristic, as well as geographic communities, who have been systematically denied a full opportunity to participate in aspects of economic, social, and civic life. In the context of the Federal workforce, this term includes individuals who belong to communities of color, such as Black and African American, Hispanic and Latino, Native American, Alaska Native and Indigenous, Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander, Middle Eastern, and North African persons. It also includes individuals who belong to communities that face discrimination based on sex, sexual orientation, and gender identity (including lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, gender non-conforming, and non-binary (LGBTQ+) persons); persons who face discrimination based on pregnancy or pregnancy-related conditions; parents; and caregivers. It also includes individuals who belong to communities that face discrimination based on their religion or disability; first-generation professionals or first-generation college students; individuals with limited English proficiency; immigrants; individuals who belong to communities that may face employment barriers based on older age or former incarceration; persons who live in rural areas; veterans and military spouses; and persons otherwise adversely affected by persistent poverty, discrimination, or inequality. Individuals may belong to more than one underserved community and face intersecting barriers.


Equity is the consistent and systematic fair, just, and impartial treatment of all individuals.


Inclusion is the recognition, appreciation, and use of the talents and skills of employees of all backgrounds.


Accessibility is the design, construction, development, and maintenance of facilities, information and communication technology, programs, and services so that all people, including people with disabilities, can fully and independently use them.