Release Number 6893-14

March 27, 2014

U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission and Canadian Authorities Sign Memorandum of Understanding to Enhance Supervision of Cross-Border Regulated Entities

Washington, DC — The U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) announced today that CFTC Acting Chairman Mark Wetjen and leaders of the Alberta Securities Commission (ASC), the British Columbia Securities Commission (BCSC), the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC), and the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) (collectively Canadian Authorities) have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) regarding cooperation and the exchange of information in the supervision and oversight of regulated entities that operate on a cross-border basis in the United States and in Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario, or Québec.

Through the MOU, the CFTC and the Canadian Authorities express their willingness to cooperate in the interest of fulfilling their respective regulatory mandates regarding derivatives markets. The scope of the MOU includes markets and organized trading platforms, central counterparties, trade repositories, and intermediaries, dealers, and other market participants.

Along with CFTC Acting Chairman Wetjen, the MOU was signed by Chairmen William Rice (ASC), Brenda Leong (BCSC), Howard Wetston (OSC), and Louis Morisset (AMF).

See MOU under Related Link.

Last Updated: March 27, 2014