Agricultural Advisory Committee

The Agricultural Advisory Committee was created in 1985 to advise the Commission on issues involving the trading of agricultural commodity futures and options and facilitate communications between the CFTC, the agricultural community, and agriculture-related organizations.

Commissioner Heath Tarbert sponsors the Agricultural Advisory Committee. Members include representatives of national farm organizations, major commodity groups, agribusiness concerns, and agricultural bankers. Summer Mersinger serves as the Designated Federal Officer for the committee.

Committee Charter (PDF)

Ag-OI Subcommittee

The Agricultural Futures Contracts with Open Interest (Ag-OI) Subcommittee was established for the purpose of making recommendations to the AAC for Commission policy related to the implementation of amendments to futures contracts based on enumerated agricultural commodities when those amendments would apply to contract months with open interest.

Name Entity Representing Title
Joseph Janzen (Chair)   Assistant Professor, Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services, University of Illinois-Urbana
Wayne Boseman Amcot Director
Brett Crosby U.S. Cattlemen's Association Marketing and Competition Committee Member
Andrew Keighin ADM Trade Manager, Export Grains, and SE Rail Markets
Joe Kovanda 4:10 Risk Strategies Co-Founder
Ed Prosser Commodity Markets Council Representative
Curt Strubhar Grain and Feed Association of Illinois Representative
Azeez Syed American Cotton Shippers Association Representative
Tony Vojslavek The Gavilon Group Chief Rick Officer
Jason Wheeler USARice Rice Futures Contract Working Group
Marcus Wilhelm CoBank Vice President
Tim Andriesen CME Group Managing Director – Agricultural Products
Tim Barry ICE Futures U.S. Vice President of Product Development
Layne Carlson Corporate Secretary, Treasure and Chief Regulatory Officer MGEX
Matt Haraburda FIA/PTG Executive Committee Member
Kelle James Mercaris Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Justin Lewis KIS Futures Vice President



Date Meeting Details

Meeting to discuss updates from the Livestock Markets Task Force, second quarter National Farm Loan data, the impending launch of a Brazil-based soybean futures contract, as well as the Division of Enforcement’s Self-Reporting Program and the role of intermediaries and the National Futures Association (NFA) in protecting market participants from fraud. Full details, including minutes and agenda, here.

Meeting to discuss the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on agricultural commodity markets, featuring remarks from U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue. Full details, including agenda, here.

AgCon2019, the second agriculture commodity futures conference hosted by CFTC and the Center for Risk Management Education and Research at Kansas State University. Full details, including minutes and agenda, here.

AgCon2018, the first-of-its kind agriculture commodity futures conference presented by CFTC and the Center for Risk Management Education and Research at Kansas State University. Full details, including agenda, here.

Meeting to discuss topics related to speculative position limits for agricultural commodities and other agricultural market matters. Full details, including agenda, here.

Meeting to discuss issues related to deliverable supplies of agricultural commodities, as they pertain to position limits and the agricultural economy. Full details, including agenda, here.

Meeting to discuss issues concerning the Dodd-Frank Act, including customer protection and the voice recording provision in 1.35, as well as the trading of ethanol/Renewable Identification Numbers. Full details, including minutes and agenda, here.