Release Number 7200-15

July 21, 2015

CFTC’s Energy and Environmental Markets Advisory Committee Announces Four New Associate Members

Washington, DC — The U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) announced today four new associate members of the Energy and Environmental Markets Advisory Committee (EEMAC).

Commissioner J. Christopher Giancarlo, who serves as the sponsor of the EEMAC, said “I am pleased to welcome four new members who bring a diverse set of viewpoints to the only CFTC advisory committee mandated by the Dodd-Frank Act. Their input will be critical to the EEMAC in the months ahead as the committee considers rules and issues confronting America’s energy producers, utilities, consumers and hedgers.”

New Members:

    Mr. William B. Jones, Chief Executive Officer, Jones Petroleum and JP Capital & Insurance, Inc., Jackson, Georgia. Mr. Jones is a true small businessman and entrepreneur operating a full line fuels wholesale distributor and retailer, and also operates and leases convenience stores and grocery stores. Other company interests include farming, propane, real estate, insurance, finance and restaurant operations. Mr. Jones founded Jones Petroleum in 1968 with the purchase of a single convenience store and has built Jones Petroleum into a diversified company with over 500 employees. Among his many professional and civic activities, Mr. Jones is a former president of and currently serves on the board of the Georgia Oilman’s Association.

    Mr. Martin Bates, President, Strategy, Energy & Development, Alcoa Inc., Global Primary Products, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Mr. Bates leads upstream portfolio strategy and management for Alcoa, one of the largest industrial energy consumers in the United States. Mr. Bates is also responsible for Alcoa Energy and Transformation business units and Alcoa’s research and development investments in new smelting process technologies. He joined Alcoa's Global Primary Products team in 2010 as Vice President of Strategy and Development.

    Mr. Joseph W. Allen, Director of Energy Policy for Caterpillar Inc. and Solar Turbines Inc., Washington, D.C. Mr. Allen joined Caterpillar in 1982, and has held various positions within the company in both Australia and the United States. He is also a founding member of Caterpillar’s corporate Sustainable Development Council. Before moving to Solar Turbines in 2010, Mr. Allen was the Global Commercial Manager and Director of Sustainable Development for Caterpillar’s global remanufacturing business. Caterpillar and Solar Turbines design, manufacture and install high efficiency, low emissions, gas engines and industrial gas turbines used in the oil and gas industry and the electric power generation industry.

    Mr. Andrew K. Soto, Vice President for Regulatory Affairs, American Gas Association, Washington, D.C. Mr. Soto leads the team representing AGA’s natural gas distribution member companies before a variety of Federal agencies and U.S. courts on a broad range of policy issues involving the regulation of physical and financial natural gas markets; Federal energy conservation standards; as well as environment issues. Mr. Soto also advises member companies on regulatory and legislative developments that affect gas utility interests and advocates on their behalf before the U.S. Department of Energy, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), the CFTC, and other Federal agencies and U.S. courts. He has also testified to Congress on natural gas market issues.

Last Updated: July 21, 2015