Release Number 8674-23

Commissioner Goldsmith Romero Announces Newly Constituted Technology Advisory Committee and Announces Chair and Vice Chair

March 13, 2023

— Commissioner Christy Goldsmith Romero, sponsor of the CFTC’s Technology Advisory Committee (TAC), announced the newly constituted membership of TAC. Commissioner Goldsmith Romero also announced that Carole House will serve as TAC’s chair and Ari Redbord will serve as Vice Chair. Chair Carole House is an Executive in Residence at Terranet Ventures, Inc., and recently served as the Director for Cybersecurity and Secure Digital Innovation for the White House National Security Council, where among other things, she was instrumental in President Biden’s Executive Order on Ensuring Responsible Development of Digital Assets. Vice Chair Ari Redbord is the Head of Legal and Government Affairs at TRM Labs, a blockchain intelligence company that detects and investigates digital asset fraud and financial crimes, who previously served as the Senior Advisor to the Treasury Deputy Secretary and the Undersecretary for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence, and is a former federal prosecutor. 

Commissioner Goldsmith Romero said, “With our markets facing some of the most challenging and innovative times for next-generation technology, I am honored that the new members of the Technology Advisory Committee have agreed to this public service.  To protect our markets from increasingly-sophisticated cyber attacks, to ensure responsible development of digital assets in a way that protects customers, and to ensure that the implications of emerging technologies like artificial intelligence are well understood, the Commission requires advice from technology experts. These experts can provide us foundational knowledge about the technology, as well as the complex and nuanced impacts and implications of technology on financial markets. That’s why I’ve reimagined TAC membership to bring together well-respected and well-known leaders, thinkers, builders, and doers from the technology industry, federal leaders, academia, and public interest representatives. I am especially honored to have Carole House serve as Chair, and Ari Redbord as Vice Chair—both highly regarded for their exceptional federal service and expertise in complex technological issues.”

Technology Advisory Committee Membership

Chair: Carole House, Executive in Residence, Terranet Ventures Inc.

Vice Chair: Ari Redbord, Head of Legal and Government Affairs, TRM Labs

Todd Conklin, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Office of Cybersecurity and Critical Infrastructure Protection, U.S. Department of the Treasury

Kavita Jain, Deputy Associate Director, Innovation Policy, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Jeffery Zhang, Assistant Professor of Law, University of Michigan Law School

Dan Awrey, Professor of Law, Cornell Law School

Nicol Turner Lee, Senior Fellow, Governance Studies; Director, Center for Technology Innovation, The Brookings Institution

Michael Shaulov, Co-Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Fireblocks

Nikos Andrikogiannopoulos, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Metrika

Joe Saluzzi, Partner, Co-Founder, Partner, and Co-Head of Equity Trading, Themis Trading LLC

Emin Gün Sirer, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Ava Labs

Dan Guido, Co-Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Trail of Bits

Christian Catalini, Co-Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, Lightspark

Timothy Gallagher, Managing Director, Cyber Risk and Investigations, Kroll

Michael Greenwald, Global Lead, Digital Assets and Financial Innovation, Amazon Web Services

Jonah Crane, Partner, Klaros Group

Jill Gunter, Chief Strategy Officer, Espresso Systems

Adam Zarazinski, Chief Executive Officer, Inca Digital

Cantrell Dumas, Director, Derivatives Policy, Better Markets, Inc.

Michael Panfil, Senior Director, Lead Counsel, Climate Risk & Clean Power, Environmental Defense Fund

Stanley Guzik, Chief Technology & Innovation Officer, S&P Global Commodity Insights

Francesca Rossi, IBM Fellow and AI Ethics Global Leader, IBM

Ben Milne, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Brale

Jennifer Ilkiw, President, ICE Futures U.S

Justin Slaughter, Policy Director, Paradigm

Hilary Allen, Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Scholarship, American University, Washington College of Law

Steve Suppan, Senior Policy Analyst, Institute for Agriculture & Trade Policy

Corey Then, Vice President of Global Policy, Circle

Todd Smith, Director of Centralized Data Science and Analytics, National Futures Association

Sunil Cutinho, Chief Information Officer, CME Group

John Palmer, Cboe Global Markets, Inc., President, Cboe Digital

The Technology Advisory Committee

The TAC assists the Commission in identifying and understanding the impacts and implications of technological innovation in financial services and markets. The TAC may inform the Commission’s consideration of technology-related issues in support of its mission to ensure the integrity of derivatives and commodities markets and the achievement of other public interest objectives. -The TAC also may provide advice on technological investments that could support the Commission in meeting its surveillance and enforcement responsibilities. 

The TAC will hold its inaugural meeting under Commissioner Goldsmith Romero’s sponsorship on March 22, 2023 from 12:00 p.m. to 4:45 p.m. (ET) at the CFTC’s Washington, D.C. headquarters.  The meeting is open to the public and will be webcast live on At this meeting, the Commission will hear technology experts present on decentralized finance, cyber resilience, and responsible artificial intelligence issues. These presentations will be followed by a discussion of the membership on these topics. The TAC also plans to consider the renewal of certain subcommittees and weigh changes to others at the upcoming TAC meeting. [See CFTC Press Release No. 8670-23]

Specifically, the TAC will consider renewing the Cybersecurity Subcommittee, creating a new Subcommittee on Digital Assets and Blockchain Technology that combines and expands two previous TAC subcommittees, and establishing new Subcommittee on Emerging Technologies. 

The full, updated agenda for the inaugural TAC meeting can be found here: