Release Number 7596-17

August 3, 2017

U.S. Senate Unanimously Confirms Giancarlo as Chairman, Quintenz and Behnam as Commissioners

Washington, DC — The U.S. Senate today voted unanimously to confirm the nomination of J. Christopher Giancarlo as Chairman for the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission. In addition, Brian D. Quintenz and Rostin Behnam were unanimously confirmed as Commissioners. Giancarlo has served as Acting Chairman since January. Giancarlo issued the following statement regarding his confirmation:

“I am humbled by the bipartisan support in the Senate. As I have stated before, during my time as a Commissioner, I have witnessed firsthand the enduring commitment of members of the US Senate to our common purpose of serving the American people and the agricultural producers upon which we all rely. I stand ready to fulfill the CFTC’s mission to foster open, transparent, competitive and financially sound markets, in a way that best fosters broad-based economic growth and American prosperity. I am pleased that the nominations of Russ Benham and Brian Quintenz were also confirmed by the Senate, and I look forward to the swift confirmation of Dawn Stump and getting a full Commission soon. I am also grateful to Commissioner Bowen for her partnership during my tenure as Acting Chairman, and I am proud of the excellent work we’ve accomplished together.”

Quintenz will join the CFTC from Saeculum Capital Management, LLC, where he is the Founder, Managing Principal, and Chief Investment Officer.

Behnam serves as the Senior Counsel for the Senate Committee on Agricultural, Nutrition and Forestry.

Last Updated: August 3, 2017