Release Number 5496-08

Release: 5496-08
For Release: May 2, 2008

CFTC Names Members of the Energy Markets Advisory Committee

First EMAC Meeting Scheduled for June 10

Washington, DC – Today, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission announced the members of its recently-formed Energy Markets Advisory Committee. CFTC Acting Chairman Walter L. Lukken is the Chairman of the EMAC. It is designed to provide a public forum to examine emerging issues related to the energy markets and the CFTC’s role in these markets under the Commodity Exchange Act.

“In these historic times for the markets, I am pleased to have such a diverse and knowledgeable group of energy industry participants to assist the Commission in its role in policing the energy markets,” said CFTC Acting Chairman Lukken.

The first EMAC meeting is scheduled for June 10, 2008 – more details will be released in the future. The 25-person committee membership includes:

Energy Markets Advisory Committee

Bob Anderson
Committee of Chief Risk Officers

Laura Campbell
Memphis Light, Gas & Water

Donald Casturo
Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

Paul Cicio
Industrial Energy Consumers of America

Bo Collins
1.618 Group LLC

Sean Cota
Cota & Cota Oil & Propane

Kevin Fox
D.E. Shaw & Co., L.P.

John P. Heimlich
Air Transport Association

R. Skip Horvath
Natural Gas Supply Association

Brian Kelly
Colonial Energy, Inc.

Anthony Mansfield
Heller Ehrman LLP as a representative of Shell Trading (US) Company

William McCoy
Morgan Stanley

James Newsome

Ron Oppenheimer
Merrill Lynch Commodities, Inc.

Paul Pantano
McDermott, Will & Emery as a representative of the Futures Industry Association

Satu Parikh
Lehman Brothers, Inc.

Robert Pickel

Dr. Craig Pirrong
Bauer College of Business
University of Houston

Michael Prokop
Amerex Brokers LLC

Richard Sandor
Chicago Climate Exchange, Inc.

John Shelk
Electric Power Supply Association

Foster Smith
J.P. Morgan

Jeffrey Sprecher
IntercontinentalExchange, Inc.

Mark Stainton
Citadel Investment Group, L.L.C.

Don Whittaker
American Petroleum Institute

In addition to the representative members, the CFTC has invited officials from the Congressional Research Service, the Department of Energy, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and the Federal Trade Commission to participate as Official Observers.

Media Contacts
Ianthe Zabel

R. David Gary

Last Updated: May 22, 2008