Technology Advisory Committee
Technology Advisory Committee - CFTC
Font Size: AAA // Print // Bookmark

Technology Advisory Committee

  • CFTC’s Technology Advisory Committee
    1155 21st Street, N.W.
    Washington, DC 20581

    December 13, 2010


    9:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.

    Check-in with CFTC Reception – Lobby Level


    10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

    TAC Meeting, Hearing Room


    10:00 a.m. to 10:15 a.m.

    Opening Remarks: Commissioner Scott D. O’Malia, Chairman, TAC, Chairman Gary Gensler, Commissioner Jill Sommers, Commissioner Chilton, and Commissioner Mark Wetjen

    10:15 a.m. to 10:25 a.m.

    Overview of Meeting and Introduction of Presenters

    10:25 a.m. to 12:25 p.m.

    Panel I: Swap execution Facilities (SEFs): the New Environment: How will SEFs Function and How Will Participants Aggregate Liquidity.


      Michael Cosgrove, Managing Director-Head of Commodities & Energy Brokerage, North America, GFI Group


      Kevin McPartland, Director of Fixed Income Research, TABB Group: Market Structure and SEF Aggregators

      Ben MacDonald, Global Head of Fixed Income Products, Bloomberg LP: Platform Integration

      Steven Seitz, Counsel, Office of General Counsel, CFTC: Disruptive Trade Practices and SEFs

      Tomas Zikas, Managing Director and Head of the eRates Business, State Street Global Markets: Market Perspective on Order Interaction

      Joe Mecane, Executive Vice President and Co-Head of U.S. Listing and Cash Execution, NYSE Euronex: National Market Structure: Lessons Learned


    12:25 p.m. to 1:45 p.m.



    1:45 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

    Panel II: HFT Anthropological Observations: Defining, Classifying, and Observing High Frequency Traders


      Aaron Lebovitz, Managing Director of Algorithmic and Event Trading, Infinium Capital Management

      Richard B. Gorelick, Chief Executive Officer, RMG Advisors, Inc.

      Tom Gira, Executive Vice President for Market Regulation, FINRA

      David Leinweber, Head of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Computational Research Division's Center for Innovative Financial Technology

      E. Wes Bethel, Staff Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Computational Research Division's Center for Innovative Financial Technology

      Andrei Kirilenko, Chief Economist, CFTC

    3:30 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.

    Break (Restrooms are located on the Mall Level)

    3:45 p.m. to 4:55 p.m.

    Panel III: Nomenclature: Interim Recommendations from the Data Standards Subcommittee

      CFTC, Office of Chief Economist, Overview

      o Andrei Kirilenko¸ Chief Economist, CFTC; Chairman, TAC Subcommittee on Data Standardization

      CFTC Staff Summary of Data Collection Efforts

      o John Rogers, Chief Information Officer, Office of Data Technology, CFTC

      • Presentations from the TAC Subcommittee on Data Standardization

      o Working Group I (Product and Entity Identification)

      o Working Group II (Machine-Readable Legal Documents)

      o Working Group III (Semantic Representation of Financial Instruments)

      o Working Group IV (Storage and Retrieval of Financial Data)

    4:55 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

    Concluding Remarks of Commissioner Scott D. O’Malia, Chairman, TAC and Discussion of Topics for Next TAC Meeting TBD 2012