Release: #4095-98
For Release: January 12, 1998

CFTC Appoints Chairperson Born as Chair of its Financial Products Advisory Committee and Commissioner Spears as Chair of its Agricultural Advisory Committee

Washington--On January 7, 1998, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission approved the appointments of Chairperson Brooksley Born as Chairperson of the Commission's Financial Products Advisory Committee and Commissioner David D. Spears as Chairman of the Commission's Agricultural Advisory Committee. These committees were established by the CFTC for the purpose of receiving advice and recommendations on issues concerning individuals and business entities interested in or affected by the financial and agricultural futures markets regulated by the Commission.

Chairperson Born commented that "these advisory committees are comprised of highly respected and distinguished industry leaders who, over the years, have provided invaluable advice to the Commission regarding issues of particular importance to users of both the financial and agricultural futures markets. I am confident that they will continue to play a vital role as the Commission continues to meet the challenges presented by the rapid development of new instruments and the continued dramatic increase in the use of derivative markets."