Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Office of External Affairs (202) 418-5080
Three Lafayette Centre
1155 21st Street, NW
Washington, DC 20581

Release: 5103-05
For Release: August 1, 2005

Reuben Jeffery III Sworn in As CFTC Chairman

Walter Lukken Sworn in To A Second Term As CFTC Commissioner

Washington, D.C. – Reuben Jeffery III was formally sworn in today as a Commissioner and the 10th Chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC), the federal agency that regulates trading of commodity futures and options on futures in the United States. The oath of office was administered by the Honorable Andrew H. Card Jr., White House Chief of Staff, during a ceremony attended by CFTC Commissioners and senior staff.

In the same ceremony today, Mr. Card administered the oath of office for a second term to CFTC Commissioner Walter Lukken. Mr. Lukken was nominated to a second term by President Bush on May 25, 2005, and confirmed by the Senate on June 30, 2005. This new term expires April 13, 2010. He was sworn in for his first term on August 7, 2002.

# # #

Media Contacts
Alan Sobba (202) 418-5080
R. David Gary (202) 418-5085
Office of External Affairs