Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Office of External Affairs (202) 418-5080
Three Lafayette Centre
1155 21st Street, NW
Washington, DC 20581

Release: #4951-04
For Release: July 12, 2004

CFTC’s Agricultural Advisory Committee to Meet
Wednesday, July 21, 2004

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission’s Agricultural Advisory Committee (AAC) will hold its 30th meeting on Wednesday, July 21, 2004, from 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., at the Commission’s Washington, D.C. headquarters, Three Lafayette Centre, 1155 21st Street, N.W., in the first floor hearing room. The meeting will be conducted by Chairman James E. Newsome and Commissioner Walt Lukken, who serve, respectively, as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Committee, and will be open to the public.

The AAC was created to advise the Commission on issues relating to the trading of agricultural commodity futures and options, and to serve as a communications link between the Commission and the agricultural community. The Committee’s membership includes representatives of national farm organizations, major commodity groups, agribusiness concerns, and agricultural bankers.

The meeting will begin with a review by Commission staff of trends in the futures industry since the enactment of the Commodity Futures Modernization Act of 2000. Other topics to be discussed include the Federal speculative position limits for certain agricultural commodities, and developments relating to various risk-management products available to producers.

A list of AAC members may be found at For further information, please contact the Commission’s Office of External Affairs, Commodity Futures Trading Commission, Three Lafayette Centre, 1155 21st Street, NW, Washington, DC 20581, (202) 418-5080.

# # #

Media Contacts
Alan Sobba (202) 418-5080
R. David Gary (202) 418-5085
Office of External Affairs

Related Documents
Agricultural Advisory Committee