Release: #4681-02
For Release: July 29, 2002


Washington, D.C. – The Commodity Futures Trading Commission today announced the participants for its Roundtable discussion on clearing issues. The Roundtable will be held on August 1, 2002, from 1:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m., in the first floor Hearing Room at the Commission’s Washington office, 1155 21st Street, NW, Washington, D.C. The Roundtable is open to the public. The agenda for the discussion is available from the Commission’s Office of External Affairs at (202) 418-5080.

The Roundtable discussion will include two sessions. The first session will focus on the development of the Commission’s oversight program for Derivatives Clearing Organizations, and how the Commission and industry can work together to ensure the financial integrity and stability of the futures markets and derivative transactions while providing the flexibility contemplated in the CFMA. The second session will provide a forum for clearing members and exchanges/clearing houses to discuss other clearing-related issues. Participants will include:

Jeffrey Borchardt, Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
Kansas City Board of Trade Clearing Corporation

J. Robert Collins, Jr., President
New York Mercantile Exchange

John M. Damgard, President
Futures Industry Association

Michael C. Dawley, Vice President
Goldman, Sachs & Co.

Dennis Dutterer, President and Chief Executive Officer
Board of Trade Clearing Corporation

Dennis Earle, President
EnergyClear Corporation

W. Robert Felker, President & CEO
Banc One Capital Markets

Yew-Meng Fong, Managing Director
Deutsche Bank

John G. Gaine, President
Managed Funds Association

David Hardy, Chief Executive
The London Clearing House Limited

Kent R Horsager, President & Chief Executive Officer
Minneapolis Grain Exchange

Wendell Kapustiak, Managing Director
Merrill Lynch

Ira J. Krulik, Director
Credit Suisse First Boston Corporation

James J. McNulty, President and Chief Executive Officer
Chicago Mercantile Exchange

Hank Mlynarski, President
BrokerTec Clearing Company, LLC

Charles P. Nastro, Managing Director
Lehman Brothers Inc.

William H. Navin, Executive Vice President and General Counsel (1st session)
Paul G. Stevens, Jr., Senior Advisor (2nd session)
The Options Clearing Corporation

Susan M. Phillips, Dean and Professor of Finance
School of Business and Public Management, George Washington University

Ira Polk, Chief Financial Officer
Man Group USA Inc.

Brian Saylor, Vice President
New York Clearing Corporation

Didier Varlet, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer
Carr Futures Inc.

David J. Vitale, President & Chief Executive Officer
Chicago Board of Trade

Robert K. Wilmouth, President
National Futures Association