## U.S. COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING COMMISSION



Three Lafayette Centre
1155 21st Street, NW, Washington, DC 20581
Telephone: (202) 418-5100
Facsimile: (202) 418-5521
www.cftc.gov

The Secretariat

December 14, 2018

## **ELECTRONIC MAIL**

United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Re: Transmittal of the Semiannual Report of the Office of the Inspector General (OIG) of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission for the period from April 1, 2018 through September 30, 2018.

Dear Chairs and Ranking Members:

A copy of the Semiannual Report of the Office of the Inspector General (OIG) of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission for the period from April 1, 2018 through September 30, 2018 is enclosed. This report, with the accompanying statistical tables and required explanations, is submitted to you in accordance with the requirements of Section 5 of the Inspector General Act of 1978, as amended. The report provides a description of the resources and procedures of the OIG and its audit, investigation, and legislative and regulatory review programs.

During this reporting period, there were no instances of audit reports over six months old where corrective action had not been completed.

If you have any questions regarding the OIG Semiannual Report, please contact Mr. A. Roy Lavik, the Inspector General, at 202-418-5110.

Sincerely,

Christopher J. Kirkpatrick Secretary of the Commission

Enclosures

## Recipients:

The Honorable Mike Conaway Chairman Committee on Agriculture U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Collin C. Peterson Ranking Member Committee on Agriculture U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Austin Scott Chairman Subcommittee on Commodity Exchanges, Energy and Credit Committee on Agriculture U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable David Albert Scott
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Commodity Exchanges, Energy and Credit
Committee on Agriculture
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Pat Roberts Chairman Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Debbie Stabenow Ranking Member Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 December 14, 2018 Page 3

The Honorable Rodney P. Frelinghuysen Chairman Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nita M. Lowey Ranking Member Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Robert B. Aderholt
Chairman
Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural Development,
Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies
Committee on Appropriations
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Sanford Bishop
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies
Committee on Appropriations
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Richard C. Shelby Chairman Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Patrick Leahy Vice Chairman Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 December 14, 2018 Page 4

The Honorable James P. Lankford Chairman Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Christopher Coons
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Trey Gowdy Chairman Committee on Oversight and Government Reform U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Elijah Cummings Ranking Member Committee on Oversight and Government Reform U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Ron Johnson Chairman Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Ranking Member Committee on Homeland Security and Government Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510