[Federal Register: July 29, 1998 (Volume 63, Number 145)]
[Page 40514]
From the Federal Register Online via GPO Access [wais.access.gpo.gov]



Agricultural Advisory Committee Meeting

    This is to give notice, pursuant to Section 10(a) of the Federal
Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. 2, Sec. 10(a), that the Commodity
Futures Trading Commission's Agricultural Advisory Committee will
conduct a public meeting on August 12, 1998 in the first floor hearing
room (Room 1000) of the Commission's Washington, DC headquarters, Three
Lafayette Centre, 1155 21st Street, NW., Washington, DC 20581. The
meeting will begin at 1:00 p.m. and last until 5:00 p.m. The agenda
will consist of the following:


1. Welcoming Remarks
2. Status Report on the Agricultural Trade Option Pilot Program and
Discussion by Committee Members
3. Overview and Discussion of Proposed Rules Increasing Speculative
Position Limits for Certain Agricultural Commodities and Amending CFTC
Guideline 1, Contract Market Designation Requirements
4. The Future of Futures--a Discussion of Current Developments,
Including Electronic and Off-Exchange Trading
5. Overview of the Upcoming CFTC Reauthorization
6. Other Business.

    The meeting is open to the public. The Chairman of the Advisory
Committee, Commissioner David D. Spears, is empowered to conduct the
meeting in a fashion that will, in his judgment, facilitate the orderly
conduct of business. Any member of the public who wishes to file a
written statement with the Advisory Committee should mail a copy of the
statement to the attention of: The Agricultural Advisory Committee, c/o
Commissioner David D. Spears, Commodity Futures Trading Commission,
Three Lafayette Center, 1155 21st Street, NW., Washington, DC 20581,
before the meeting. Members of the public who wish to make oral
statements should inform Commissioner Spears in writing at the
foregoing address at least three business days before the meeting.
Reasonable provision will be made, if time permits, for an oral
presentation of no more than five minutes each in duration.

    Issued by the Commission in Washington, DC on July 23, 1998.
Jean A. Webb,
Secretary of the Commission.
[FR Doc. 98-20249 Filed 7-28-98; 8:45 am]

======== RETURN TO INDEX ========