Release: 5209-06

For Release: July 27, 2006

CFTC’s Agricultural Advisory Committee to Meet August 1, 2006

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission’s Agricultural Advisory Committee (AAC) will hold its 31st meeting on Tuesday, August 1, 2006, from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., at the Commission’s Washington, D.C. headquarters, Three Lafayette Centre, 1155 21st Street, N.W., in the first floor hearing room. The meeting will be conducted by Commissioner Michael V. Dunn, who serves as Chairman of the Committee, and will be open to the public.

For those individuals not able to attend the meeting, a listen-only teleconference capability has been established. When dialing in participants should be prepared to provide their first name, last name, and affiliation. When asked for the chairperson of the conference, participants should say “Luci Wade-Cantu”. The dial in numbers are: Domestic Toll Free: 800-659-6183 and International Toll: 816-650-0741.

The AAC was created to advise the Commission on issues relating to the trading of agricultural commodity futures and options, and to serve as a communications link between the Commission and the agricultural community. The Committee’s membership includes representatives of national farm organizations, major commodity groups, agribusiness concerns, and agricultural bankers.

The meeting will begin with a review by Commission staff of the Commitment of Trader reports, followed by “View from the Field” presentations, and a roundtable discussion. Meeting participants will also discuss the economic and market implications of thinly traded price discovery markets, followed by a roundtable discussion.

A complete agenda can be found at /ac/acagmeetings.htm and a list of AAC members may be found at /ac/acagmember.htm. For further information, please contact the Commission’s Office of External Affairs, Commodity Futures Trading Commission, Three Lafayette Centre, 1155 21st Street, NW, Washington, DC 20581, (202) 418-5080.

Media Contacts
Alan Sobba

R. David Gary

Last Updated: July 19, 2007