Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Office of External Affairs (202) 418-5080
Three Lafayette Centre
1155 21st Street, NW
Washington, DC 20581

Release: 5067-05
For Release: April 13, 2005

CFTC’s Technology Advisory Committee to Meet Thursday, April 28, 2005

Washington, D.C. – The Commodity Futures Trading Commission’s (CFTC) Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) will meet on Thursday, April 28, 2005, from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., at the Commission’s Washington, D.C., headquarters, Three Lafayette Centre, 1155 21st Street, N.W., in the first-floor hearing room. The meeting is open to the public.

The Committee is chaired by CFTC Acting Chairman Sharon Brown-Hruska and was created by the Commission in October 1999 to obtain input on emerging technologies, the impact of technology on financial services and commodity markets, and the appropriate legislative or regulatory response to increasing use of technology in the markets. TAC members represent U.S. designated contract markets, self-regulatory organizations, financial intermediaries, market users, and traders.

The Committee’s agenda will consist of the following:

1. What constitutes “prior art” in the patents process.

2. Intellectual property in trading and settlements technology.

3. Restrictions on the usage of exchange settlement prices.

4. Market data piracy.

Any member of the public who wishes to file a written statement with the Advisory Committee should mail a copy of the statement to the attention of: Technology Advisory Committee, c/o Acting Chairman Sharon Brown-Hruska, Commodity Futures Trading Commission, Three Lafayette Centre, 1155 21st Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20581, before the meeting. Members of the public who wish to make oral statements should inform Acting Chairman Brown-Hruska in writing at the foregoing address, at least three business days before the meeting. Reasonable provision will be made, if time permits, for oral presentations of no more than five minutes each in duration.

For further information concerning this meeting, please contact Ananda Radhakrishnan, Counsel to Acting Chairman Brown-Hruska, (202) 418-5188.

# # #

CFTC Media Contacts
Alan Sobba
(202) 418-5080
R. David Gary
(202) 418-5085
Office of External Affairs

Staff Contact
Ananda Radhakrishnan
Counsel to Acting Chairman
(202) 418-5188