Font Size: AAA // Print // Bookmark

RELEASE: 5382-07

  • Release: 5382-07

    For Release: September 13, 2007

    CFTC Releases September 18 Hearing Details

    Hearing to Examine Trading on Regulated Exchanges and Exempt Commercial Markets

    Washington, DC – Today, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) announced the final list of participants expected to testify at the September 18 hearing to examine the oversight of trading on regulated futures exchanges and exempt commercial markets (ECMs).

    The hearing schedule and invited witnesses include:

    9:00 – 9:15 a.m.

    Commission Opening Statements

    9:15 – 10:30 a.m.

    Panel I – CFTC Witnesses

    Terry S. Arbit
    General Counsel

    John F. Fenton
    Deputy Director for Market Surveillance, Division of Market Oversight

    Jeffrey H. Harris
    Chief Economist

    Richard A. Shilts
    Director, Division of Market Oversight

    10:30am – 12:00 p.m.

    Panel II – Trading Facilities

    Craig S. Donohue
    Chief Executive Officer and Director, CME Group, Inc.

    Peter Krenkel
    President, Natural Gas Exchange, Inc.

    James E. Newsome
    President and Chief Executive Officer, New York Mercantile Exchange

    Richard L. Sandor
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chicago Climate Exchange

    Jeffrey C. Sprecher
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, InterContinental Exchange, Inc.

    1:00 – 2:30 p.m

    Panel III – Market Users

    Laura Campbell
    Assistant Manager for Energy Resources, Memphis Light Gas & Water
    Member, American Public Gas Association

    John M. Damgard
    President, Futures Industry Association

    R. “Skip” Horvath
    President, The Natural Gas Supply Association

    Russ Stolle
    General Counsel, Huntsman Corporation

    2:30 – 4:00 p.m.

    Panel IV – Market Users

    Mark Cooper
    Director of Research, Consumer Federation of America

    Sean Cota
    President, Cota & Cota, Inc., of Bellows Falls, Vermont;
    President, New England Fuel Institute;
    Northeast Chair, Petroleum Marketers Association of America

    John G. Gaine
    President, Managed Funds Association

    Greg Zerzan
    Counsel and Head of Global Public Policy, International Swaps and Derivatives Association, Inc.

    The CFTC will present findings based on this public proceeding to help inform the debate when Congress considers CFTC reauthorization.  The hearing is open to the public and will be held in the CFTC Washington, DC headquarters, first floor hearing room.

    For those unable to attend the hearing, a listen-only teleconference capability is available. Participants should be prepared to provide their first name, last name, and affiliation. The Conference ID # is 16929103, and the “Leader’s Name” is “Walt Lukken”.

    The dial in numbers are:

    Domestic Toll Free: 866-811-0403
    International Toll:

    Media Contacts
    Ianthe Zabel

    R. David Gary

    Last Updated: September 20, 2007