Font Size: AAA // Print // Bookmark

RELEASE: erscontractdesignworkshopagend

  • Farm Foundation / Commodity Futures Trading Commission / Economic Research Service

    Commodity Futures Contract Design Workshop


    Tuesday, June 9, 2009 – Waugh Auditorium – 1800 M St, NW, Washington, DC

    1:00 p.m.

    Welcome – Sarahelen (Sally) Thompson, Director, Market and Trade Economics Division, USDA Economic Research Service, and Jeff Harris, Chief Economist, Commodity Futures Trading Commission

    1:15 p.m.

    Opening Remarks - Neilson Conklin, President, Farm Foundation

    1:30 p.m.

    Jeffrey Williams "Whose Markets? Revisited” – University of California, Davis

    2:20 p.m.

    Scott H. Irwin, Philip Garcia, Darrel L. Good, and Eugene L. Kunda “Poor Convergence Performance of CBOT Corn, Soybean and Wheat Futures Contracts: Causes and Solutions “– University of Illinois

    3:10 p.m.

    Break - Refreshments

    3:30 p.m.

    Amit Kumar Vasisht “Contract Design and Trading bans on Indian Futures Contracts– Indian Agricultural Statistics Research Institute, Indian Council of Agricultural Research

    4:20 p.m.

    Samarth Shah and B. Wade Brorsen “Electronic vs. Open Outcry Trading in Agricultural Commodities Futures Markets” – Oklahoma State University

    5:10 p.m.

    Adjourn to CFTC First Floor Hearing Room for Reception

    5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.

    CFTC Reception - 1155 21st St, NW, Washington, DC

    Wednesday, June 10 – Waugh Auditorium – 1800 M St, NW, Washington, DC

    8:00 a.m.

    Coffee and pastries

    8:10 a.m.

    Roger Dahlgran “Why Is the US Ethanol Futures Contract a Success?” – University of Arizona

    9:00 a.m.

    T. Randall Fortenbery “Designing New Futures Contracts: Experience with Dairy Markets” – University of Wisconsin

    9:50 a.m.


    10:10 a.m.

    John Roberts “The Role of Actively Traded Multiyear Futures Contracts In Price Discovery” – University of Maryland

    11:00 a.m.

    Panel Discussion - Aaron Smith, U. C. Davis, Robert Hauser, University of Illinois, Virginia France, University of Illinois, and Steven Turner, Mississippi State University


    Close -

    Last Updated: May 28, 2009